Be Still

As many of you may know, I am an avid outdoorsman who loves nothing more than to be still in the wilderness and absorb the environment around me. The noise I hear are the quiet sounds of nature as it speaks to me in the stillness.

Recently as I stood in the Clearwater River here in Alberta I come to appreciate more and more the stillness of everything around me. The water rushing past my waders, the unseen smells of fall in the air, the far off distant call of Canada Geese as they make their annual migration and of course the swish of the line as it gently falls on the water before me. No matter the fly chosen, I watch as it slowly drifts over a small eddy then over a small pool in anticipation of a strike of an unseen Brown Trout. 

The same scene will play out over and over again. There may be hours pass, the cold of the glacier water numbing my legs but all is forgotten when the line snaps taught and the fight begins. The anticipation of a glimpse of seeing the magnificent fish clear the water shaking, are all worth it. To hold such a beautiful creation in your hands only to release it again brings a great peace in understanding why you are there. Nature speaks loudly of balance, structure and something far greater than man.

At the end of the day, sitting in a cabin by the fire I can reflect on the beauty I have been witness of throughout the day. I can have great peace in understanding I have played but a small part in such a complex world. Yes world be still and listen to the calling of your heart to love… Be still. 

© Rolly A. Chabot 

One thought on “Be Still

  1. We crave the same stillness of nature, to be one with the water and trees, to touch the trout. You just made me realize the beauty of catch and release. It’s the opportunity to hold even for a moment, something that live in the stillness we seek. Thank you for stopping by Carrot Ranch! Blessing to you!

Leave a Reply

